Summer Reading List

1. I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron

i-feel-bad-about-my-neck-97803072768271

“When Harry Met Sally” and “Sleepless in Seattle” are my go-to romantic comedies, so it would only make sense to add Ephron’s works to my list. I have to get my hands on “Wallflower at the Orgy” and “Crazy Salad: Some Things About Women.”

2. The Bling Ring by Nancy Jo Sales

i.0.the-bling-ring-nancy-jo-sales

 

Currently devouring this.

3. The Accursed by Joyce Carol Oates

the-accursed_custom-be08ba5f35fa4ff2d1bd4e87722287dff86a626b-s6-c30

“Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?” is my FAVORITE SHORT STORY OF ALL TIME. So it’s about time I read one of her novels, especially since I now follow her on Twitter.

4. The Big Screen: The Story of Movies by David Thomson

images

I’m a nerd.

5. Lolita

lolita

In my last English class all of my classmates gushed about how much they love Lolita. It’s always been one of those books I pick up in the bookstore (RIP Borders) but never committed to – that changes this summer!

6. As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner

as-i-lay-dying

Another one of those “I’ll read this…eventually.”

7. The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

plague-of-doves

If you haven’t read “The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse,” you definitely should. And then read this.

8. On Writing by Stephen King

61xk7zg4GqL._SL1000_

I’ll take any advice I can get from Stephen King.

9. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

a-game-of-thrones-book-1-of-a-song-of-ice-and-fire

I need to take a break from George for a while, as I am still in mourning…sob…Rob…but I’ll buck up and read the series.

10. Everything by Jane Austen

coraleebickfordsmith

It’s probably some form of English-major blasphemy that I have yet to read Jane Austen.

Leave a Reply

