Summer Reading List: To Date

Image

With one paying job and one unpaying job (resume blarg) I’ve had a decent amount of down-time to read.

An update!

1. Finished “I Feel Bad About My Neck” by Nora Ephron in one day.

I just want to be her.

2. Devoured “The Bling Ring” by Nancy Jo Sales and have been going COMPLETELY INSANE that the movie is not showing ANYWHERE NEAR ME.

3. About half-way done with “The Accursed” by Joyce Carol Oates but risked the wrath of the library soooo I returned it. To be continued.

4. Finished “The Big Screen: The Story of Movies” by David Thomson, sticky notes and all.

Again, I am nerd.

5. “Lolita” is … interesting. I’m glad I read “Pale Fire” first because I enjoyed Kinbote’s absurd/hilarious narration. Humbert Humbert is also entertaining, but I feel weird about being entertained. And reading it at the beach.To be continued.

6. “As I Lay Dying” by William Faulkner.

Who am I kidding.

220px-ONeill-Eugene-LOC

7. “Eugene O’Neill: Complete Plays 1932 – 1943”

I have consumed “Ah! Wildnerness,” “The Iceman Cometh,”  “Long Day’s Journey into Night,” and “A Moon for the Misbegotten.”

Fun fact: He won four Pulitzer Prizes (one posthumously)  and is the only American playwright to win the Nobel Peace Prize for Literature.

So his stuff is good.

9780547241630

8. “The Best American Nonrequired Reading”

While I would have liked to read the most recent collection (it’s okay library), you know it has got to be good if David Sedaris is introducing it.

Best of the Bests:

Best American Woman Comedy Piece from The Rumpus by Wendy Molyneux

Best American Magazine Letters Section from Newsweek by Stephen Colbert

Best American First Lines of Poems Published in 2009

“Half Beat” by Elizabeth Gonzalez

“War Dances” by Sherman Alexie

“the photographer” by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefèvre, and Frédéric Lemercier

“The Tiger’s Wife” by Téa Obreht.

——

As for the rest of my initial list …

(The Plague of the Doves by Louise Erdrich, On Writing by Stephen King, Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, and EVERYTHING by Jane Austen)

that’s what August is for!

CONFESSION: I started reading G.O.T. I really hated in the TV series when Lady died and I was admittedly off-put when I read it again in the book.

So I need a break.

The Original Post:

https://shannon2marie.wordpress.com/page/3/

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading List: To Date

Leave a Reply

